Skip to content

February 22, 2014

Getting Edgy

by gordonmichaelsutton

As part of my preparation for beginning to paint with oils I’ve embarked on a drawing course at Tate Liverpool. I want to improve my drawing skills and meet new people to talk Art. And to receive some high quality coaching along the way. We’re using a current exhibition at the Tate called Constellations – http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-liverpool/display/dla-piper-series-constellations

photo-3

The piece I chose to sketch was this Barbara Hepworth piece. I was drawn to its colour and foolishly thought it would be a relatively simple piece to draw. Here are a few preliminary attempts.

photo-5

A few more attempts and this was my final piece.

photo-8

The tutor suggested going back into the gallery to have a go at a different drawing. This time I chose a piece by Sam Gilliam called Simmering.

Here’s a detail from the original.

photo-7

And this was my sketch.

photo-2

More from the drawing course next week. In the meantime, any feedback very welcome.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

