Skip to content

July 29, 2012

2

Not the London 2012 Olympics

by gordonmichaelsutton

I’m sure we all agree that the Opening Ceremony to the London 2012 Olympic Games was pretty amazing. Plenty of highlights, although the musical montage from Millie Jackson’s My Boy Lollipop to David Bowie’s Heroes really sorted it for me. I’d been out when the tv coverage started and missed Danny Boyle’s pastoral idyll. So here to remedy that is my own tribute to England’s green and pleasant land ..

This, of course, is Calderstones Park, in Liverpool, taken a little earlier this evening. I thought the shadows were pretty dramatic.

My son, who’s a photographer, tells me “lighting’s everything”; he seems to have been right when you check out the difference between the shot above and the one below.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jul 29 2012

    Lighting is indeed everything and you’ve captured it here.

    Reply
  2. Jul 29 2012

    Thanks, Mike. I’m a keen amateur and am happy to defer to his expertise. He’s still at University but champing at the bit and developing a decent client base. I’ll post a link to his work sometime., Very impressed with your work, I have to say! Gordon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

