Skip to content

March 17, 2012

4

If You Ever Go Across The Sea To Ireland..

by gordonmichaelsutton

Happy St. Pat’s Day everyone! Hope it’s a good one. My maternal grandfather was Irish with family in County Wicklow and Drogheda near Dublin. It was probably he more than anyone who encouraged my love of music. This well known song – The Black Velvet Band – sung here by The Dubliners – was one of his favourites- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1n4VmujZVM .So this is a tribute to him.

Sadly, my grandfather never did get to return to Ireland, however, I was fortunate to have had several holidays there as a child. The best was probably the first trip. Flying from Liverpool to Dublin with Aer Lingus (who else?) – and driving over to Ireland’s west coast, we drove west and stayed in Salthills on Galway Bay.

Not my photograph I’m afraid – think we were still taking black & white photo’s then. But it gives you some idea of the beauty of the place. Offshore a little way are the Aran Islands and the Atlantic Ocean. Next stop America. My father’s not Irish at all but nevertheless has a soft spot for the well known Irish ballad  Galway Bay. Many different versions but here sung by Celtic Woman – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=geCEqzD3LYI

Looking at this picture reminds me of a hot August day, swimming here with my brother, Tim. Happy days!

Both of these songs are special to me, too, because of the associations they have, although my own personal favourite is Fairytale of New York – sung live here by The Pogues and Kirsty McColl – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NrAwK9juhhY

So to the Irish diaspora everywhere, Slainte!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Mar 17 2012

    One day, I shall uproot myself and make it there. Ah…sigh.
    Cheerz to a happy St. Patrick’s Day! 🙂 Uncle Tree

    Reply
  2. Mar 17 2012

    I’d like to think that maybe this post has nudged you one step closer towards making that journey, Uncle Tree!

    Reply
  3. Gardner's World
    Mar 17 2012

    I am sure your grandfather would be very proud that you are keeping the heritage alive. Happy St Patrick’s day!

    Reply
    • Mar 17 2012

      Thanks for your kind words .. certainly hope so. Happy St Patrick’s Day to you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

