Skip to content

January 16, 2012

2

Go ape in Shanghai!

by gordonmichaelsutton

I wasn’t going to post for a few days but I’m sitting on the end of the line listening to elevator music while my bank tries to figure out why it’s online facility doesn’t cut it. So I’ve got the phone pinned to one ear thus allowing me to type, etc. More China photos then. This time a Shanghai assortment. Didn’t exactly follow the instructions in the shop window while I was in Shanghai but liked the message nevertheless.

This one’s taken from my seat in the back of a cab back to my hotel. Reminded me of that movie, The Fifth Element. 

Here’s some washing hanging out high above a lilong just off the Nanjing Road.

A post from China wouldn’t be complete without some Chinese lanterns and in this part of town there were plenty.

Here’s the driver of a very different sort of taxi I took later – a motorized tricycle, basically, where you sit inside a canvas structure and face the traffic behind you – not for the timid!

Meanwhile, near the river, high above The Bund, the Chinese flag flies proudly.

Finally, from the sublime to the ridiculous. Sharks. Yes, real sharks! Swimming in the window in a department store’s Christmas display. Bank issue still not sorted. Oh well.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jan 16 2012

    I miss Shanghai!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

