Skip to content

November 6, 2011

Reporting from Paris, France.

by gordonmichaelsutton

It’s Sunday and I’ve got a big report and action plan to produce for a client tomorrow morning. So for the bulk of the day so far I can only look with envy at the beautiful Autumn sunshine and golden leaves on the trees outside my study. As the day’s worn on, I got to wondering whether interrupting my schedule every now and then to draft up a blog post might actually have a positive impact on my work rather than being perceived as a frivolous distraction. What better way to find out than to actually write a post in stages during the day. As with all my posts, there’s got to be a strong visual element. Given that I’m not entirely sure where this post is going yet, I’m including an image at random.

It’s a picture I took a few weeks ago in Calderstones Park. I have no idea what sort of plant it is. Feel free to let me know! But fabulous Autumn colours regardless.

15.45 : Just taken a short coffee break, safe in the knowledge that the report is now well under way. How did drafting the first part of a blog post help? Not sure really. Certainly feels less pressured than following Twitter or something like that. That’s a definite distraction as it’s too easy to drop in and out of it. Here’s another random image. This one was taken earlier this year and it’s the view from my brother’s garden in the Isle of Man.

Not a whole lot to do on the Isle of Man, but for peace and quiet and incredible scenery, it’s worth a trip.

16.10 : Nearly completed a trawl of the evidence gathered during a two day audit and although I’ve been writing up notes and recommendations as I’ve been going along, sense the need to step away now and again to allow me to reflect on the messages I’m delivering. In terms of this post, I think I need to similarly provide evidence of a very different sort of image. Here goes. It’s a photograph taken one bright sunny morning in the Tuileries in Paris.

A perfectly designed obelisk to the left and a magnificently realised piece of sculpture. Now back to that report..

16.45 : Getting to the stage in the report where I need to cross-reference masses of information. Important to have a clear focus. This next shot I believe has just that. Still in Paris, this is taken in it’s famous department store, Galeries Lafayette, looking down on a counter selling an incredible range of colourful spices.

The shot appealed too for it’s unusual blend of shapes, straight lines and curves.

17.00 : On the subject of shapes, it’s dusk outside now and the shapes of the trees are starting to blur and become indistinct. The opportunity to revisit a post and add to it as you’re working on something altogether different definitely seems to be motivating me to carry on with the task, and the creativity involved in writing and constructing a post is acting as a really helpful counterbalance to the much drier subject matter I’m working on in the report. Must try this again sometime,  but I’m going to close this post with one more image. Still in France, I used this image as the wallpaper on my MacBook – it’s oleanders and a beautiful blue window frame. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

